Silence Isn’t Necessarily Golden


“… to everything, there is a season and a time…”

Very true.  Our individual seasons and times force us to face challenges every day.  One thing after another tends to either sneak in, whether we’re ready or not, or it is an unavoidable aspect of our day-to-day routine.  Sneaky and unexpected interruptions are one thing, but in my case, one day-to-day thing stood between me and my passion for writing – my job.  It screamed for my attention.  Consequently, this website fell into a tarnished and dull state of silence with little to no posts or other activity.

A job.  It is generally necessary for most of us to be employed.  I was grateful to have a job, but finding ample time to write was difficult.  I would stay up late – often into the early morning hours writing – and manage to get a few hours sleep, before resuming the daily ritual of rising to an alarm clock and heading off to work once again.  My writing was progressing (albeit slowly), but at the same time, this website was in dire need of the attention I was unable to adequately provide.

Change.  Yes, things have changed.  I am now officially retired.  Correction: I have transitioned.  I don’t care for the word, retired.  I was already tired.  I had no desire to get re-tired.  So I have happily transitioned from many years as an employee to that of an independent woman free to use my days as I choose.

Time.  I now have the luxury of time to pursue a serious writing career.  It’s no longer a hobby.  I did gain a lot of experience and knowledge during those years working for other people and companies and I used my writing skills for job-related purposes.  And among all that, I also had years of opportunity to study people; some of whom have found their way into my books (names have been changed, of course).  Looking back, however, I can say it’s been good.

A new season.  Yes, a new season, indeed.  Moving forward, watch for more frequent posts – updates on my writing progress; upcoming publication announcements; perhaps some writing tutorials; and hopefully more.  Either way, I’m looking forward to this new season in my life… one not so silent but definitely more golden.

 

One thought on “Silence Isn’t Necessarily Golden

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.